Thursday, July 29, 2010

Portraits


These two portraits were taken Saturday evening while I was on the World Wide Photo Walk in Boston. Though both are portraits, they are different in style and subject. The humorous portrait of the group of men above is very expressive and captures their individual sense of style. They requested I take their photo as they wanted to document their night on the town. I heard they were pleased with the results, but didn't want me to use their names.

The portrait of the two young women below shows their poise and a little bit of a sense of adventure as they were spending the weekend in Boston from their native New York. They asked me to take a picture with their camera, so I asked to take theirs but failed to ask their names; if they see their picture I hope they like it.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Friday, July 23, 2010

Thursday, July 22, 2010

George Washington


Statue of George Washington in the Public Garden. Created by Thomas Ball in 1869, it is the first statue of the former president on his horse.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Wednesday Doorway


This week's doorway is situated at the corner of Oliver and High
Streets, one of several doorways of International Place, Boston.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Summer Reading

Good summer reading for a hot July afternoon. What's on your reading list this summer?

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Baseball


While the rest of the world is watching the World Cup, we in the States are (mostly) watching baseball. An excited fan at last night's Pawtucket Red Sox game, which they lost 1-0 to the Syracuse Chiefs.

Friday, July 9, 2010

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Bicycle Tours



A great way to tour a city, though with all the traffic on the streets of Boston, I wouldn't be too quick to get in one of those things. Traffic is so bad and drivers so regularly scoff at red lights, stop signs, and pedestrians, my rule of thumb in Boston is to always look both ways when crossing, even on a one way street.

Monday, July 5, 2010

Old South Meeting House


Looking down Washington St. to the Old South Meeting House.
Built in 1729, Old South was the largest building in colonial
Boston and provided a stage for the American Revolution.