Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Wednesday Doorway

This week's doorway is brought to you by winter shadows and light, with a dose of cold on the side.

Saturday, December 26, 2009

Iron Railing

Winter light accents the edges on the iron railing of the Park Street Church on Tremont Street.

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Wednesday Doorway

This week's doorway is the doorway to the home of Appalachian Mountain Club (AMC) at number 5 Joy Street on Beacon Hill. If you are interested in hiking, biking, canoeing, mountaineering, or anything to do with outdoor recreation then the AMC should be your first stop for information. As it says on their website: "Since 1876, AMC has promoted the protection, enjoyment, and understanding of the mountains, forests, waters, and trails of the Appalachian region. We are the nation’s oldest outdoor recreation and conservation organization."

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Monday, December 21, 2009

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Kneeland Street

Kneeland Street from Stuart Street with Tufts Dental School across the street. The bottom photo is the view down Washington Street with Tufts Dental School on the left.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Monday, December 14, 2009

Monochrome Monday

This is a picture I took last spring at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, DC. The memorial was designed by Maya Lin in 1981. The walls of the memorial have a mirror-like surface of polished black granite reflecting images of the visitors and surrounding monuments, trees and clouds. The names of all the dead and missing are engraved on its walls. The young girl above is making a rubbing of one of the names

Sunday, December 13, 2009

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Copley Plaza Hotel

Copley Plaza Hotel in Copley Square. The Copley Plaza Hotel is bordered by the Hancock Tower, Trinity Church and the Boston Public Library.

Friday, December 11, 2009

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Main office of the Registry located at the intersection of Boylston and Washington Streets. The Registry has had it ups and downs with service and things have improved overall, but it's always a bad day when you have to go to the Registry.

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Wednesday Doorway

This week's doorway is M.J. O'Connors Irish Pub in the Park Plaza Hotel. O'Connors also has another establishment on the Waterfront.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Monday, December 7, 2009

Monochrome Monday

Two young women sitting on the dock at the Duck Pond in the Public Garden on a warm day last week.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Holiday Wreath

Wreath adorning the iron fence on one of the Boylston Street entrances to the Public Garden.

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Wednesday Doorway

For this week's doorway I thought I would show Macy's (photo taken about one month ago), since we are in the midst of the "High Holy Holiday Shopping Season." This view is looking up Summer Street, with Chauncy Street on the left and Arch Street on the right.

This

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Theme Day: Waiting

First of the month is theme day for the City Daily Photo Blog (CDPB) Community. Click here to view thumbnails for all participants.

My interpretation of waiting is the statue of noted children's author Theodore Seuss Geisel, better known as Dr. Seuss. I imagine him here in this pose waiting for inspiration to write more clever rhymes.