Sunday, December 26, 2010

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Painting Washington Street


A very focused and determined artist on Washington Street, painting with temperatures at the freezing mark.

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Storrow Drive


View of lunch time traffic on Storrow Drive. I took this photo from the Arthur Fiedler Foot Bridge, looking east.

Below is a picture from the same location, looking west. If you enlarge the picture you will see the iconic (at least in Boston) Citgo sign in Kenmore Square.


Wednesday, December 1, 2010

December Theme Day - Time

The theme this month is time, and I thought a store's hours of operation was perfect for the occasion. Click here to view thumbnails for all participants in this month's theme day.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Monday, November 22, 2010

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Samuel Eliot Morrison


Bronze statue of Samuel Eliot Morrison located on the Commonwealth Avenue Mall. Morrison was a historian, sailor and two-time Pulitzer prize winning author. He researched and retraced the route Columbus took to the New World, and later documented Columbus' adventures and translated Columbus' log in his epic work, "Admiral of the Ocean Sea."

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Umbrellas


Since so many people have wondered about the location of this shot,
I took it on Figureoa Street in downtown Los Angeles.

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Friday, October 8, 2010

Old West Church


A church with a lot of history, located on Cambridge Street, Old West Church was founded in 1737. Here is another view I posted back in February '08.


Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Wednesday Doorway


I found this week's doorway on a trip I
made to Palm Beach, FL a few months ago.

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

The Ether Monument: the Good Samaritan


The monument was commissioned by Thomas Lee and commemorates the discovery ether and its use as an anesthetic in surgery performed at Massachusetts General Hospital October 16, 1846. The fountain was designed by John Quincy Adams Ward and Henry Van Brunt.

In the center of a large square fountain basin is a tall square granite base topped with a sculpture depicting a bearded man in robe and turban (the good samaritan) attending a wounded reclining male figure who appears unconscious. Around the center section of the base, there is an inscription panel on each side. The inscription panels are bordered by a decorative frieze, flanked by pairs of polished red granite columns, and topped with a small tre-foil shaped marble relief. The relief on the front depicts the performance of surgery; the relief on the right depicts an allegory of the triumph of science; the relief on the rear depicts a field hospital with a wounded soldier in the care of a surgeon; and the relief on the left depicts the Angel of Mercy descending toward a reclining figure. A water spout on each side of the base is designed as a lion head.

---
Source: Smithsonian American Art Museum Inventory of American Sculpture, Control Number MA000002

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Bad Hair Day


Ever have a bad hair day? Well, I've been having a few days like that and unable to post. This fine lady was discovered on a visit to Jamaica Plain last year and discovered at Stonybrook Fine Arts.