Saturday, August 23, 2008

Mural


Mural on a building off West Street. This is one of four large panels depicting the struggle of the Service Employees International Union struggle for justice for its workers.

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Monday, August 18, 2008

Lifeguard on duty


Beautiful sunny day at the beach, but the waters in Boston harbor have been declared unsafe and swimming is not allowed, making it a day at the beach for the lifeguard.

Sunday, August 10, 2008

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Help! There's an alligator chasing me


At Fenway Park today, during a minor league game between the Red Sox AA Lowell Spinners and the Tampa Bay AA Hudson Valley Renegades, an alligator chased this little girl around the base paths. The little girl won the race and reached home before the 'gator. For the record, the Spinners won it in the 12th inning.

Friday, August 8, 2008

Rose garden


Woman spotted smelling the roses in the Kelleher Rose Garden. Originally established in 1930 and well-hidden inside the Back Bay Fens, the James P. Kelleher Rose Garden has over 200 varieties of roses, more specifically tea, floribunda and grandiflora hybrids.

Thursday, August 7, 2008

Out with the old...


The Red Sox gift shop has reduced all Manny Ramirez shirts, etc. by 50% now that he has been traded. Now that he's gone everyone wants to forget him as soon as possible it seems.

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Waiting....


Outside the Museum of Fine Arts. It looked to me like this father and son had had enough of the museum and were patiently waiting outside for the women.

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Monday, August 4, 2008

Saturday, August 2, 2008

Funny face


I was at a ballgame in Pawtucket Thursday night and caught a policeman feigning surprise at two young mischievous, albeit very cute, children sticking their tongues out at him. Whoever said policemen don't have a good sense of humor have never been to Pawtucket, Rhode Island.

Friday, August 1, 2008

August 2008 Theme Day: Metal


The theme this month is "Metal." I chose a picture of General Motors Hummer, an over-sized SUV that gets the worst mileage of any civilian vehicle and weighs over 8,000 pounds (3,629 kilos).

Click here to view thumbnails for all theme day participants.